Skip to content

Comparison

TanVision vs SunLync

Last verified

Researched and written by the TanVision team

What SunLync offers is taken from its own website and linked where it appears. Seen something change? Tell us and we will correct it.

The short answer

SunLync's website describes salon software for single locations up to chains, with EFT recurring billing, timer integration, online booking and a client web portal or mobile app. TanVision runs in a web browser and suits a single salon that wants check-in to enforce exposure limits, paperwork and bed-level upgrades, with card payments and monthly auto-pay through its built-in card processing, and session times sent to the beds on T-Max timer controllers.

At a glance

The SunLync column is taken from SunLync's own website as of October 2026, linked in each cell. Where a page we read says nothing about a point, the cell says so rather than guessing.

ComparedTanVisionSunLync
How it runsIn a web browser, on a counter computer, a tablet or a phoneData hosted locally or in the cloud, and an offline utility for working without internet, per their features page. Whether the desk program runs in a browser is not stated on the pages cited
Published priceSee our pricing page"Starting at $150 for a single location" on their home page, with no billing period stated
Bed and timer controlWith T-Max timer controllers: the desk sends each session's time to the bed's own timer through a small box TanVision supplies, and Stop clears the time. Other timer brands are not supported yetEquipment control and timer integration are listed on their features page
Automatic membership billingYes. Monthly auto-pay on a card the client saves on the card processor's secure page, charged with the tax on the membership's scheduleEFT recurring billing for monthly memberships, per their features page
Clients book onlineNot today. Appointments are booked at the deskOnline appointment booking, per their features page
Client self-serviceClients sign the consent form on their own phone and, when the salon turns on shop accounts, can sign in to its shop page to see their packages and, where the salon takes payment at checkout, pay for an order onlineA web portal or mobile app for booking, billing and memberships, built on its open API, per their features page
Skin type and exposure limitsFitzpatrick type on the client record; a typed time over the limit is refused with the reason on screenSkin type is not mentioned on their features page, which lists built-in safeguards for UV and non-UV equipment
Marketing and remindersText campaigns, welcome texts and "we miss you" texts to clients who agreed to marketing texts. No marketing emails todayBuilt-in marketing and automated text and email reminders, per their features page
Several locations in one accountNot ready todayMulti-location management, per their features page
Tanning excise kept apart from sales taxYes, stored per line with the rate usedNot described on the pages cited

How each one runs

As of October 2026, their features page says: "Host it locally or in the cloud, integrate with third-party tools, and always maintain full control over your business data." The pages cited do not say whether the desk program itself runs in a web browser or is installed on a computer, so ask SunLync directly. The same page lists an offline utility: "Keep your salon moving, even without internet." Their home page describes software built for tanning salons and "evolved for spa, wellness, and fitness", for anything from a single location to 500.

TanVision runs in a web browser, on a counter computer, a tablet by the beds or an owner's phone, in a light or a dark theme, and every open desk screen redraws itself when something on the floor changes. TanVision is cloud software and needs a connection; offline running is not something it offers today. Each salon's data is kept apart from every other salon's by the database itself.

Pricing

As of October 2026, their home page says: "Starting at $150 for a single location, we have a scalable pricing model that evolves as your business grows." It does not say whether that is per month or a one-time figure, and no plan list is published on the pages cited. Ask SunLync for a quote that names the billing period.

TanVision's price is on our pricing page.

Front desk and check-in

TanVision's desk is a live floor board: a tile or row for each room showing whether it is free, running or needs cleaning, and the time left. Staff scan a keytag or search, pick the package and the room, and type the minutes. The minutes box is never filled in for them.

Before a session starts, check-in checks the paperwork and the limits. A session cannot start without a signed warning statement, a date of birth, and guardian consent for a minor. For UV rooms, TanVision can recommend a session length from the client's skin type and tan build-up, and it refuses a typed time above the limit or above the room's own maximum. The limits follow the salon's own settings, capped at each unit's maximum. More on exposure safety.

Their features page lists equipment control and timer integration, described as "effortless, automated session control", and regulations for UV and non-UV wellness equipment, described as "built-in safeguards that protect your clients and your business". The page does not say which rules those safeguards check.

Packages and memberships

TanVision sells session packs and unlimited plans with expiry dates, daily or weekly visit limits and freezing. A package's sessions, price and expiry are locked in at the sale, and every manual correction records who made it and why. The salon decides which package opens which room, and an upgrade is rung up as a sale before the bed starts. See memberships and packages and bed levels and upgrades.

A monthly package in TanVision can bill on auto-pay: the client saves a card on the card processor's secure page, and TanVision charges it each period with the tax, on terms such as a setup fee, a minimum number of payments and a cancellation rule. A declined payment is tried again. Their features page lists membership and package management, EFT processing with supplemental fees and surcharge structures, and EFT recurring billing described as "secure and integrated processing of monthly recurring membership subscriptions".

Where SunLync does more today

If any of these matter to your salon, SunLync lists them and TanVision does not offer them today. Each item is from their features page as of October 2026.

  • EFT processing with supplemental fees and surcharge structures.
  • Online appointment booking, integrated with the point of sale.
  • A web portal or mobile app where clients book sessions, update billing and manage memberships.
  • Built-in marketing and automation, with automated text and email reminders.
  • Managing pricing, staff and customers across several locations.
  • An offline utility, described as keeping the salon moving even without internet.

TanVision does not take client bookings online, send marketing emails, run several locations from one account, or keep working without internet today, and it does not support timer brands other than T-Max yet. If your salon depends on one of these, raise it on a demo.

Switching

TanVision brings your client list, the packages clients still hold and their visit history in from spreadsheets saved as CSV, so a move is three imports plus fresh digital signatures. Keytags come in with the client list, and gift certificates sold before the switch are added by hand. The switching page has the full checklist.

Common questions

Is SunLync cloud-based?
Their features page says a salon can host its data locally or in the cloud. It also lists an offline utility for working without internet. The pages cited do not say whether the desk program runs in a web browser. TanVision runs in a web browser, on a counter computer, a tablet or a phone.
How much does SunLync cost?
As of October 2026, their home page says "Starting at $150 for a single location" and does not state a billing period. A full price list is not published on its website. TanVision's price is on our pricing page.
Does TanVision control tanning beds like SunLync?
With T-Max timer controllers, yes. Their features page lists equipment control and timer integration. In TanVision, when a client is checked in, the desk sends the session's minutes to the bed's own timer, through a small box TanVision supplies that sits on the salon's network next to the T-Max controller, and Stop clears the time. TanVision does not support other timer brands yet.
Does TanVision run EFT billing like SunLync?
Yes, by card. A monthly package in TanVision can bill on auto-pay through its built-in card processing: the client saves a card on the card processor's secure page, and TanVision charges it each period with the tax. At the counter, the till sends the amount to a supported card terminal.
Can I move from SunLync to TanVision?
Yes. TanVision imports your client list, open packages and visit history from spreadsheets saved as CSV, and unspent gift certificates are added by hand. The switching page walks through it.

Sources

  1. SunLync home pageSunLync. Accessed .
  2. SunLync Pro featuresSunLync. Accessed .

See TanVision on your own front desk

Book a demo to walk through the room board, check-in, consent forms and the till, and ask how it would handle the way your salon works.